November 12- 18, 2009 -- Red Nation Film Festival

November 12- 18, 2009
Raleigh Studios

Christine , Herman


Wed. November 18, 2009
Closing Night Gala
Twilight: New Moon
Raleigh Studios

Montana Rain, Alex Meraz

Kim Meraz, Joanelle Romero

Kim Meraz

Michael Dean Shelton

Jackie Jacobs, Tinsel Korey

Jackie Jacobs, Joanelle Romero

, Danielle Petty, Michael Dean Shelton



RNFF Award Winners:

Best Film
The Twilight Saga
Director: Chris Weitz
Best Director
The Ghost Riders
Director: V. Blackhawk Aamodt
Best Actor
Chaske Spencer
New Moon /The Twilight Saga
Best Actress
Tinsel Korey
New Moon /The Twilight Saga
Best Documentary Feature
Director: Joe Berlinger
Best Woman Documentary
Feature For The Next 7 Generation /The 13 Grandmothers
Director: Carole Hart
Best Documentary Short
In The Footsteps of Yellow Woman
Director: Camille Manybeads Tso
Best Editor
Red Nation Film Festival Short
Montano Rain
Best Music Video
Michael Jackson
Black or White

Red Nation Student Women Film Project Winners:

Lumbini Park - Directed by Eve LaFountain (Turtle Mountain Chippewa)

A Thousand Unsaid Words - Directed by Katrina Montoya (Sault St. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians)

The Hand Drum - Directed by Stephanie Painter (Shoshone/Washoe/Oneida)


• "Red Nation Vision Award” – In Loving Memory to Michael Jackson “Black or White”

• “Edward Albert Jr Indigenous Film Award” – Edward James Olmos, Actor

• “Brando Award” – Joe Berlinger, director of Crude

• “Lifetime Achievement Award” – Graham Greene, Actor • “Best Network Award” – CBS Corporation

• “Television Heritage Media Award” – James Ramos, San Manuel Tribe

• “Red Nation Theatre Playwright Award” – Richard Montoya, Culture Clash

• “Red Nation Humanartian Award” – Leonard Peltier, Activist

• “Red Nation Activists Award” – Atossa Soltani, Director of Amazon Watch

• “Red Nation Community Award” – Christine Padilla, Community Volunteer Lakota Nation

In attendance were:

Edward James Olmos (actor), Josie Thomas-Head of Diversity-Senior VP (CBS Corporation), Jo Berlinger, director of Crude,Atossa Soltani, (Amazon Watch) accepting on her behalf Mitchell Anderson, Leonard Peltier (activist) accepting on his behalf RJ Joseph, Christine Padilla (community volunteer), Disney ABC Television Group Frank B. Gonzalez, Chaske Spencer (actor/New Moon), Tinsel Korey (actor/New Moon), Alex Meraz (actor/New Moon), Rene Heyes (casting director), Zahn McClarnon (actor/Into The West), Gil Birmingham (actor/New Moon), Jackie Jacobs (Talent Group), Kimberly Norris Guerrero (Dreamkeeper), Elijah De Jesus (actor/Pearl), V. Blackhawk Aamodt (director/The Ghost Riders), Camille Manybeads Tso (director/In The Footsteps of Yellow Woman) to name a few.

Vicangelo Bulluck - Executive Director Hollywood Bureau of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) gave opening remarks.

Keynote Address: Joanelle Romero – RNFF Founder/Community Organizer/Executive Director/Producer and Montano Rain - Youth Environmentalist-founder of "Help the Earth”

RNFF included American Indian Traditional performances for opening & closing night Red is Green Carpet Galas and were performed by:

Mati Waiya Ceremonial Elder– Chumash Nation; Hershel Dayzie - Dine Nation; Pierson Nunez – Acjachemen Nation; Moses Brings Plenty - Cheyenne River/Sioux Nations; Clayson Benally of Blackfire - Dine Nation; Montano Rain - Apache/Cheyenne Nations

© 2009 WilkiIMAGE Photos by Wilki W. K. Tom All Rights Reserved

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails